radical love letters
radical love letters
Bonus: Sarah Jaffe on Love
4
Preview
0:00
-28:21

Bonus: Sarah Jaffe on Love

radical love letters
4

(This week, in lieu of the usual note, I have a little audio treat for you. My curation of recommended reading/watching/listening (etc.) will be back next Friday. In the meantime, enjoy my conversation with Sarah Jaffe!)

***

Sarah Jaffe has been writing and thinking at the intersections of structures and feelings for long over a decade. Her first book explores anger and politics, her second book love and labor, and now she is thinking through grief and revolution in From the Ashes. I have long admired her ability to articulate such potent analysis in such elegant prose.

Book cover: on a black background, the words FROM THE ASHES with flames twining through them, and the subtitle Grief and Revolution in a World on Fire

Years after I first started reading her work, we became internet mutuals, and soon found our way into a quick and easy friendship. I remember an early appreciation for how our conversations about dating were just as likely as our conversations about labor organizing to be punctuated with references to radical theorists.

And that’s what you’ll find in our conversation, which originated as a response to the note I wrote a couple weeks ago about the concept of love addiction. Sarah had thoughts! I invited her to share them in a recorded conversation, and to my delight, she obliged. We talked for over an hour about everything from the social implications of addiction to the role of love in solidarity movements to what transformative justice actually means in practice. It’s meandering and unscripted and a bit unpolished, but I think—partly because we didn’t do much planning —it’s also chock full of a lot of thought-provoking insights.

You can find a very rough transcript here.

I’d love to know your thoughts!

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to radical love letters to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

radical love letters
radical love letters